College of Liberal Arts & Education

1877

The University Honors Program at Detroit Mercy

The University Honors Program at University of Detroit Mercy serves the Colleges of Business Administration, Engineering & Science, Liberal Arts & Education and the School of Architecture. The program strives to integrate the intellectual, spiritual, ethical and social development of its members by fostering a community of scholarly excellence, encouraging exploration of the larger world beyond the classroom and promoting compassionate service to society at large and to persons in need. Students graduating from the Honors Program may graduate as Presidential Scholars, Honors Scholars Cum Laude or Honors Scholars.

Presidential Scholar

Students who have completed the Honors Program Curriculum, volunteered community service, and achieved a minimum GPA of 3.75

Erin A. Letourneau Jacob G. Yasso

Kappa Gamma Pi

Membership in Kappa Gamma Pi, the national Catholic college graduate honor society, is awarded to students whose lives exemplify excellence in leadership, scholarship, faith and service.

Tianna Davis Yemi A. Ogunleye Jennifer C. Raptoplous

Emerging Leaders Program (ELP) Leadership Pin and Leadership Medallion

The ELP is designed to educate, engage and empower all Detroit Mercy students. Using the social change model, the ELP offers the opportunity to explore student leadership potential and abilities through involvement in programs, events and activities that include learning, leadership, spirituality, mentoring and service on and off campus.

Leadership Pin Award Candidates

Ongoing involvement in student organizations, spirituality workshops, leadership workshops, mentoring and 100 hours of community service.

Norman Y. Yacoob – Criminal Justice Hayley N. Williams – Cybersecurity

Leadership Medallion Award Candidates

These students have met the requirements of the Leadership Pin and have additional involvement in student organizations, spirituality retreats, completed leadership coursework, mentoring and 200 hours of community service.

Norman Y. Yacoob – Criminal Justice Hayley N. Williams – Cybersecurity

Graduate Student Awards Department

Excellence in Intelligence Analysis Award

Presented to a student who is completing a Master of Science in Intelligence Analysis and whose work in the program has shown dedication and competence at the highest level.

Kayleigh M. Nuessgen

Richard H. L. Marshall Award for Graduate Excellence in Information Assurance

Presented to a graduate student in Information Assurance who has exhibited the highest degree of academic achievement and leadership potential within a governmental, business or educational organization. Given in the name of Richard Henry Lee Marshall to honor his contributions to the security of the nation.

Kyle R. Gutherie

Computer & Information Systems Graduate Award

Presented to a graduate student in the Master of Science in Computer & Information Systems Program who has demonstrated outstanding scholastic achievement and shows exceptional promise as a scholar in this field.

Ambreen Khan

Sir Robert Peel Award

Presented for excellence in graduate studies in Criminal Justice and for distinguished service within the field.

Dana M. Vitale

Undergraduate Student Awards College

Clarence J. McLeod Award

Presented in memory of Congressman Clarence J. McLeod to a junior with the highest academic

Msgr. John C. Vismara Award

Presented to an outstanding Philosophy major.

Jennifer C. Raptoplous

Catherine A. Caraher History Prize

Presented to a history major in recognition of outstanding academic achievement. The award is named in honor of the former chair of the History Department.

Katherine I. Mutschler

Historic Memorials Society in Detroit Award

Presented to a History major by the Historic Memorials Society in Detroit for outstanding achievement in the study of American History.

Parah L. Farmer

Political Science Award

Presented to a graduating senior for commitment to academic excellence and service in Political Science.

Mona B. Alawie

Legal Studies Award

Presented for academic excellence and outstanding service to the legal community.

Sarah R. Kenaya

John J. Muller Psychology Award

Presented to an outstanding undergraduate to pursue an advanced degree in psychology. **Jasmine A. Henry**

Social Work Award

Presented annually to the graduating senior with the highest overall grade point average with demonstrated leadership.

Kaila W. Hemphill

Theatre Arts Award

Presented to any Detroit Mercy undergraduate student who combines scholastic achievement with outstanding theatrical artistry and service to the Detroit Mercy Theatre Company.

Mason G. Modzelewski

Dean's Award

Presented to undergraduate students who are not Dean's Gold Key awardees and who have earned a cumulative grade point average of 3.5 or better through Term I of this academic year.

Freshmen

Katelyn H. Farrelly Cheri A. Flounory Awsaf Jaigirdar Nabila Khan Mackenzie R. Marshall Sophia A. Miller Dirkaft K. Mohammed Helana N. Napiorkowski Elena K. Neceski Sophia L. Nelander Patrick T. O'Connell Lance A. Poole Jenna A. Saker Candy M. Saputo Gracie M. Sheets Mitchell H. Smith Sebastian M. Stanai Grace V. Steffes

Sophomores Mohamad Hisham H. Almadani Hannah R. Burdinie Jordyn Dao Natasha E. Davis-Mickles Donika Dedvukaj Evan J. DeVito Parah L. Farmer Na'eem A. Fields Denise J. Ford Isabelle P. Francis Cole R. Hostetler Joseph M. Kelly Sarah Morar Gracelyn A. Peebles Angelo V. Qaji Viktor Sulc

> Angelina M. Toma Molly J. Upton Giulia M. Vitale Hannah N. Wood

Juniors

Eden M. Barash Genesis E. Barnes India Bobbitt Adila Z. Choudhury Erin L. DeFever Adam J. Dobiesz NiTeiah R. Ellison Kammie R. Enriquez Haley L. Gavigan Nicholas D. Gilevich Maria Gojcaj Colin P. Graettinger Maria C. Guzman Harrison S. Haviland-Longo Deanna J. Huff Michelle A. Jones Jacob R. Kuziola Charles A. Lipka Ivana Lulgjuraj Ronan Mansilla Brandon S. Manuszak Kaydence M. Marrogy John-Paul T. Marvin Tyler C. Mauro Raeed S. Monnan Nicholas Musial Alicia N. O'Connor Nicholas C. Oliver Jasmin D. Parker Sydnie E. Redovich Antajuan G. Scott David J. Shears Marissa L. Tocco Aldo M. Tricoli

Daniella M. Younan

Seniors

John P. Basford Elizabeth N. Brandt Destiny S. Burns Annika K. Corcoran Tianna Davis Preston T. Duller Sawsan S. Elhady Lucia Fleta Robles Liam J. Gilbert Lauren J. Harman Kristen N. Hayes Serena S. Kas-Mikha Ali Laho Jermaine D. Norman Kamaria V. Norwood Kariana J. Odister Yemi A. Ogunleye Emma T. Porta Victoria L. Sbanotto Gurjoyt Singh Mateo V. Six